Marchande de Venise - Photo Biographie
Biography

Véronique van Eetvelde

Years ago, Véronique van Eetvelde decided to change her career from a promising career in the marketing to work as a painter.

She studied in Brussels in the the famous “Ecole internationale de Peinture Van der Kelen - Logelain” (International School of Painting). It was an opportunity for her to get familiar with the traditional techniques of oil painting, with a focus on decorative arts.

She spent a few months in Vienna, a unique place to get acquainted with the baroque art, very typical of Central Europe.

Afterwards, she has been living a few years in Rome, a very rich experience. This offered her the possibility to interpret in a contemporary language various themes of the Italian decorative painting, from the Antiquity until the XIXth century, with a preference for the inspiration of the medieval painters of frescoes in Umbria and Central Italy.

Remaining in the Mediterranean area, she moved to Jerusalem, where she lived for 3 years (2006-2009), a fascinating place, although very different  from the sweet hills of Umbria. So far, a rich but-at times-difficult experience in a unique setting, origin of the main monotheistic religions, and still disputed in the ongoing conflict, which has been lasting for so many years.

Under the unique light of Jerusalem, and surrounded by the tensions and sufferings resulting from the occupation, she has been touring Palestine-and occasionally Jordan-, developing warm ties with the local population. Those new experiences were an opportunity to mature and progress in her painting. Her style which was essentially "decorative" or "aesthetic" has become more "lively"-reflecting sympathy and compassion for the people she gets to know-. Her canvas depict often the beauty and freshness of the traditional way of life of Bedouins and peasants-reminiscent of "Biblical" scenes-, currently at risk of disappearing.

At times, she depicts the everyday sufferings resulting from the brutal meeting of this traditional life with a colonial system particularly cruel. Revealing to the poorest their beauty and the one of their way of life, her paintings might also express what some people call a "preferential option for the poor".

 



...

Marchande de Venise - Photo Biographie
Biographie

Véronique van Eetvelde - Photo

Véronique van Eetvelde a quitté une carrière prometteuse dans le monde du marketing pour se consacrer  à sa passion la Peinture.

Elle a été formée au sein de la célèbre « Ecole internationale de Peinture Van Der Kelen » à Bruxelles, qui l'a initiée aux techniques traditionnelles de la peinture à l'huile, et en particulier tout ce qui a trait aux arts décoratifs.

Un séjour de quelques mois à Vienne lui donne l'occasion de s'imprégner de l'art baroque, typique de l'Europe centrale.

Elle vivra ensuite plusieurs années à Rome, une expérience unique qui lui donne l'occasion de réinterpréter dans un langage contemporain divers thèmes des arts décoratifs italiens de l'Antiquité au XIXè siècle, avec une prédilection pour l'inspiration des fresquistes médiévaux de l'Ombrie et de l'Italie centrale.

Fidèle à la Méditerranée, elle décide cependant de déménager dans un cadre très différent de la douceur des collines de l'Ombrie, à Jérusalem, où elle restera 3 ans, de 2006 à 2009. Une expérience très forte et difficile à la fois. dans un environnement très particulier, creuset des grandes religions monothéistes, et enjeu d'un très long conflit.

Sous la lumière unique de Jérusalem, et au milieu des tensions et des souffrances liées à l'occupation, elle parcourt la Palestine-et à l'occasion la Jordanie-, nouant des contacts très chaleureux avec la population locale. Ces expériences sont pour elles l'occasion d'un murissement de son talent. D'un art essentiellement "décoratifs" et "esthétisant", elle passe peu à peu à une peinture plus "vivante", et à l'occasion "engagée" peignant des tableaux représentant les gens qui l'entourent, dans la fraicheur et la beauté d'un mode de vie traditionnel en voie de disparition, réminiscent d'un éternel présent "biblique", incarné par le mode de vie des bédouins et des gens simples.

A l'occasion transparait dans ses toiles la souffrance quotidienne résultant de la rencontre brutale de cette civilisation traditionnelle avec un système colonial particulièrement cruel. En révélant aux plus petits et aux oubliés de cette terre tourmentée leur beauté et celle de leur mode de vie, sa peinture reflète peut-etre involontairement ce que certains appellent une "option préférentielle pour les pauvres".